Working with Women’s Groups at Pitchandikulam Forest 2011

“Working with the women’s groups in Pitchandikulam was one of the most
enriching and enlightening experiences I have had. Nothing could have
prepared me for the impact these amazing women’s stories had on me. They
shared with us their heartbreaking stories, but also described how being
part of the women’s group brought meaning and joy into their lives. Rachel
and I ran an interactive workshop with the women on family violence, where
we explored different types of violence and educated the women about the
family violence laws in Australia. This proved to be an incredible
cross-cultural learning experience for both the women and for us. One woman
spoke of solving the problem of violence in her marriage by ‘being silent
and compromising to work things out’. I believe that the women benefitted
from the workshop by gaining an insight into how other cultures
conceptualise family violence, and how women’s rights are protected.
Education is the first step to change, and a seed has undoubtedly been
planted in these women’s minds about the impact of violence on their
children and how these patterns of violence are transmitted from one
generation to the next. If these women pass on this knowledge to their sons
and daughters, theirs could be the generation to stop the cycle of violence.
Sharing Australia’s message of ‘End the Silence, Stop the Violence’ was
powerful for these women, and their group is the perfect forum in which to
take the first step and ‘end the silence’. The impact that the women’s group
had on me continues to be apparent in my daily life. I have an incredibly
new perspective on my own life, and the way I live my life. Even the way I
engage with people has changed, and I believe the courage the woman showed
in sharing their stories has given me greater courage in my own life and in
my relationships. I carry these women’s stories around with me each day and
I feel so honoured to be able to do so. I am so grateful for this
experience, and I can’t wait to return.”
Samantha Warren , Student, Masters of Counselling Psychology 2011

About Ceres Global

CERES Global is a project aiming to engage with the issue of global inequities and the well‐being of all people on the planet and the environments in which they live. It has a special focus on working with remote village communities. CERES Global aims to engage Australian people with the issues of developing countries whilst enjoying the richness of their cultures and the wisdoms they can add to our understanding of sustainable wellbeing. The focus is on establishing ongoing relationships and links between remote communities and our part of the world.
This entry was posted in 2011, India and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Working with Women’s Groups at Pitchandikulam Forest 2011

  1. The Jagged Man says:

    The world is getting smaller thanks to mass media but the same old problems seem to get bigger. Thanks for sharing and sending a message to future generations, through the stories of those lives impacted by your presence now, that there is hope.

Leave a comment